The Hairdresser is Open

Much as the sheep might prefer otherwise. Good weather and my free time finally coincided and I gave Liam his haircut this morning. He wasn’t happy about it.

“Why would you do this to me, the goodest boy?”

Liam is the goodest boy. That’s why he deserves to not walk around all summer like a marshmallow. He was getting so fluffy his neck had all but vanished. It can’t be comfortable to be just a ball of wool with a face.

“Is it just me, or is it a lot cooler all of a sudden?”

He’s not as fat as I was worried he’d be, and his fleece is so soft. He is still grumpy at me but I’m sure he feels better.

Jeb is the only Shetland left to do, then I can do some of the Soays that haven’t shed on their own.

4 thoughts on “The Hairdresser is Open

    • He really is the goodest, most beautiful boy. He did not kick me or anything, so he is now my favorite of those I’ve sheared so far. 😂

  1. I always like how bright white Liam is after you shear him. How do you shear the Soays? It’s something I’ve always wondered, especially after Duchess’ and Lady’s photo shoot with Sara D. I know they can be rooed, but, to this city girl, it seems that rooing can be really time consuming. Especially if the roo-ee isn’t being cooperative. 😉

    • Have you ever had a dog that sheds its winter coat? It’s a bit like that, you just grab the loose part and pull and it comes away fairly easily. It’s actually less time consuming than shearing if it works right, and even if the roo-ee isn’t cooperating, at least you’re not holding razor-sharp shears while you’re trying to hold them still!

      The reason so many of my Soays look ragged is that sometimes the old wool felts onto the new wool before it’s loose enough to pull off, and then it has to be cut off the same as you’d shear any other sheep. It doesn’t take that long to clip the felted parts off since the sheep are small and it’s not the whole fleece, but I try not to have too many of them mad at me at once or they stage rebellions and I can’t get them to do anything I want until they get over it. 😂

      Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment