So Rude

Bran and Liam have been sleeping in the barn aisle at night so Bran doesn’t get punched in the stitches, which absolutely everyone is unhappy about. Liam wants back in the private suite with his girls and Neo, Bran wants back in with the other boys, and everyone else wants to be out in the aisle with them so they can steal hay all night.

Last night I must not have latched the private suite correctly or they somehow got the latch open, because Lana, Nina, and Neo were all in the aisle with Bran and Liam this morning. Nobody was bleeding and I didn’t have time or energy before work to try to separate them back out, so I just told them it was very rude to break out of their stall and there better be Absolutely No Punching Bran and let them all go to the quarantine field together. It ended up just being the girls, Liam, and Bran though, Neo walked all the way to the gate, then chickened out and ran back into the barn (where the rest of the Soays hadn’t been let out yet) crying.

I did not get any pictures of them because Bran is still mad at me over the traumatic vet visit and keeps hiding behind what’s left of the lamb-cave tree. I’m not sure if it’s me or him that’s the rude one in this scenario.

Once all that was sorted out, Her Royal Wooliness Nova got her extra breakfast only a tiny bit late, which she was very happy about.

“So rude, to be late with my breakfast! I might have starved!”

And there was no extra breakfast for Mira, which she was very UNhappy about.

“Very rude, locking me out so I can’t steal Nova’s breakfast! I’M the baby, where’s MY extra food??”

I gave her a few crunchies and walked outside so she’d follow me and leave Nova alone. She was quickly distracted by her sticks, which were, as always, not arranged to her liking.

Then thanks to Watcher barking Mira noticed that the rest of the flock had (rudely!) walked off to graze without her! This happens almost every day, but she gets indignant about it anyway.

(WordPress has changed how videos get added to posts and I can’t tell if I did it right, apologies if it won’t play.)

Watcher was pouting because we shut the gate in the OuchyZappyFence in his face (rude!) so he couldn’t chase the sheep.

“There would not have been any problems out there if you’d just let me help!”

And Echo was pouting because we wouldn’t let him back in the basement. He said morning is too early in the day and the grass was still wet and who cares about sheep he wanted to go back to bed.

“I only want to count sheep when I’m going to sleep!”

When I got home from work, Bran & Co were too hot to bother running back to the tree to hide from me, so he just hid behind Lana.

“Nothing to see here, I am just a shadow, pay no attention to that sheep behind the curtain…”

I stood at the dividing fence trying to zoom in enough to get a picture of Bran in the quarantine field who was trying to avoid my attention while the rest of the flock crowded around my legs demanding attention food.

“Hey! Hey! ShepherdPerson! Why are you looking at him and not us? Where’s our treats? Why’s it so hot? Hey!”

Maybe someday everyone around here will learn some manners, but I’m not holding my breath.

3 thoughts on “So Rude

  1. Phew, nobody slammed into Bran! Mira still playing with sticks LOL and the video did play! Hot? hmm how would Bran get shorn with his stitches? Good luck.

    • Fortunately he was already sheared before he hurt himself… or perhaps unfortunately since his wool was so thick and felted I don’t think anything could have poked its way through that armor to hurt him if he’d had it still. It was very nasty and heavy though, he would have been in distress from the heat yesterday with it.

Leave a comment