Boy Trouble

The boys got in with the girls yesterday. They broke the twine that’s been holding the field gate closed ever since they broke the clasp on the chain that used to hold the gate. Now I have a chain with a (hopefully) sturdier clasp. We’ll see how long that lasts.

I know they can do their escaping less destructively, since last time they got out, they got into the yard by lifting the yard gate right up off of its hinge pins. They say Soays have ancient genetics, but I’m starting to wonder if they’re part velocirapor.

Drake and Griffin were thrilled to have so many other guys around, and ran around challenging everyone from the Dukelings to great big Little John to duels. I think it was a mind blowing experience for the Dukelings, having tiny ram lambs pestering them trying to pick a fight. Oh how the tables were turned!

The two babies tried to sneak out with the rest of the boys when we finally got them separated, but once they realized that being big, grown up rams meant not having their mamas following them around they decided they weren’t quite ready to grow up after all.

The rest of the boys were pouty at having their Grand Adventure spoiled, but I’m sure they’ll get over it (and start planning the next one, ugh) soon enough.

“Why do you keep fixing all the fences?? We work hard to break those down!

Duke is a ram with Too Many Kids. When the Dukelings are being especially bothersome I think Duke agrees with me, but he’s not sure how it keeps happening.

“I’m proud of all my sons!”

“But there are an awful lot of them… Why don’t you guys go follow Johnny around for a while?”

“You don’t think he’s trying to get rid of us, do you?”

“Of course not! Why would he want to do that?”

The Dukelings are shedding off and proving my suspicion that the average Dukeling is 25% hair and at least 25% horns. It’s going on a year now that I’ve been telling myself every few days that I need to get them wethered. At this point I may as well wait and do them and the babies at the same time.

Fortunately it didn’t look like anybody was in heat, so there probably won’t be any unplanned winter babies. An escape still isn’t something I like seeing when I get home from work. 

12 thoughts on “Boy Trouble

  1. The horns are gigantic for such a short sheep!! How about a few soccer balls to keep them busy while you’re at work??!!!

  2. Ginormungus as their horns are, that little pack of young men is as good looking as ever.

    Bet it gave you a sinking spell when you saw the flock, though,

    Natalie

Leave a Reply

