Quoth The Sheepies

Once on a midmorning dreary, while I wandered, weak and weary,
In from giving quaint and curious sheepies hay they will ignore-
    While I shed my winter wrapping, suddenly there came a tapping,
As of some one gently rapping, rapping at my chamber door.
“Can’t be the sheepies” I muttered, “begging at my chamber door-
They’ve had grass and treats galore.”

*rap-rap-rap* Quoth the sheepies “We want more!”

Mira is pretty much expected to be banging on the door at this point, but Lana was an unexpected visitor to find entreating at my chamber door.  She’s never been in the yard before this week, let alone the basement, but there she was.

“Ooh, I see that box of crunchies on the table!”

I’m going to have to move the cereal boxes so they’re not visible through the window. At this rate I’ll have all ten of them moping on my back patio staring at the crunchies through the door. And following me across the basement to the stairway going from window to window.

“Ooh, and there’s the tub of sheep feed! And mineral mix! It’s a smorgasbord in there!”

I have a feeling I’m going to be very unpopular when the field grows back and they don’t get to come in the yard anymore.

8 thoughts on “Quoth The Sheepies

  1. Such an inquisitive group of sheepies! They look so… forlorn looking in. I wouldn’t leave the door unlocked! I have a feeling they would come right in 🙂

    • They better not! Watcher already knows how to turn the doorknob if it isn’t bolted, and Mira knows how the main barn door latch opens, she just can’t quite manage to turn it without thumbs.

Leave a Reply

