The Trials of Holly

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“I just figured out this whole crunchy-eating thing, can I have a crunchy?”

Holly is very proud of herself for being so brave.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Babies don’t eat crunchies, mamas eat all the crunchies! And the camera, I’ll take a bite of that, too!”

“But Maamaa!”

Unfortunately, she’ll have to be a little braver and a lot pushier to get past the older ewes.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“OK, can I have a crunchy now, while Mama’s busy chewing?”

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“No, it’s MY turn! I’m older and taller, I will gobble up all the crunchies first!”

“Gee whiz, Auntie Duchess…”

Being taller wouldn’t hurt her any, either. It’s hard to get a treat to her without one of the bigger ones snatching it before she can reach.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Hey, Mama’s going down to check on the group with that new ram, and everybody else is eating hay… can I have a crunchy really fast while no one’s looking?”

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Pretty pleeeease???”

Who could say no to that pretty face? Holly and I take advantage of all the grown-ups being distracted by the hay so she can eat her treat in peace.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“OK, I had my crunchy. Now I’m satisfied and can go eat hay with my big brothers.”

I will savor the time before someone tells her that the only correct response to getting one crunchy treat is “can I have another crunchy treat?”

6 thoughts on “The Trials of Holly

    • Oh no, no hugs for Holly. I’ve just now convinced her to eat from my hand. Most of my sheep are only ok with being touched if they initiate it. I hold my hand up close to them, and they move to meet it if they’re ok with being petted. Otherwise I’m invading their personal space. πŸ™‚

  1. They can be ornery, but when they are sweet like Holly just was, I’m sure your heart melts.

    Until they destroy something, or break into a field…

    • They have mastered the art of being ornery and destructive, and sweet and innocent at the same time, lol. By the time we got outdoors where these pictures were taken I’d already had to chase Holly down off of the Great Hay Mountain in the barn… Twice. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

