Growing Lambs

All the babies and new mothers are doing well, which is quite a relief. Nova’s lambs are both little ram lambs, which is a bit disappointing, but everyone’s alive and healthy, and and both lambs are being mothered to death taken care of, so I’m not complaining.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Full bellies, warm hay, a brother to snuggle with, and Mama standing guard. Doesn’t get better than this!”

Nova was a hovering, overprotective mother to Johnny last year, and I assumed it was just because he was her first lamb. If anything, I think she’s worse this year. Far from rejecting one of her twins, she’s so paranoid about these two that if they’re both nursing at the same time she just about gives herself whiplash trying not to take her eyes off either.

Most ewes make a low grumbling noise when they’re “talking” to their lambs. Nova yells at the top of her lungs. I can hear her calling those lambs in the barn until I’m halfway to the house. It’s not like the lambs might not hear her, it’s only a 7’x10′ pen, and she never lets them go more than a foot or so away from her side, but Nova definitely inherited her mother’s lungs. Both of them only have one volume setting: loud.

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“I’m watching you, ShepherdPerson! Don’t you try to touch my babies!”

“I don’t know why Mama’s so worried! Me and my brother are gonna be tough guys!”

Poor Nova, she’s going to have that wide-eyed, panicked look stuck on her face if she doesn’t relax. Those boys are her sons and Princess’s grandsons; I highly doubt they’re going to be a mild-mannered, obedient pair of lambs to keep track of once they get their feet well under them.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“That’s OK, I can handle them!”

At a week old, Holly is a confident, energetic little ewe who’s growing unbelievably fast. Like any healthy lamb, she spends most of her time either bouncing around at top speed or passed out asleep. She and Mira don’t get along. I thought Mira would be happy not to be the smallest anymore, but I think she’s jealous or something. Holly’s not scared of her, though. She has Lady to run Mira off if she gets too pushy.

Little Brother, now called Samson, is doing well in his new home. His new family sent me some pictures and said he’s doing fine on a bottle.

wp-1460406932531.jpeg

“Man, this couch sure beats sleeping in that barn!”

That’s a stylish diaper you’ve got there, little guy. I tried those with Mira, but she nixed that idea right off the bat. She never did like playing dress-up.

wp-1460407711629

“And I have a new cat friend to play with! I think I like being a housesheep!”

I think “play with” might be a euphemism for “aggravate”, but I suppose that would depend on who you ask.

I’m glad everybody’s doing so well, now Princess is the only one I have left to lamb. Her due date was yesterday, so I’m tentatively guessing she’ll lamb Friday or Saturday. She’s being a drama queen about the whole thing as usual, bellowing at the top of her lungs (see above about her lack of volume settings) that she’s hungry, and uncomfortable, and hungry, and about to lamb any minute now.

Given her size, I won’t be a bit surprised if she twins as well. And here I was worried I wouldn’t have any lambs at all this year because the girls didn’t stay with Duke very long. If Princess does twin that’s going to bring her total number of lambs and grandlambs to seven! Quite a family for a ewe who was herself a rejected twin.

6 thoughts on “Growing Lambs

  1. Lots of babies Mira will be jealous of!

    Samson clearly has his new family wrapped around his hoof. I bet he never becomes an Outside Sheep.

  2. WOW all around…the ‘smirk’ on the face of the boy in the first pic is so funny. amazing the difference in mom’s. How lovely the Samson is happy and in his element 🙂

Leave a Reply

