Happy Birthday, Miracle!

One year ago tonight I spent one of the longest nights of my life coaxing a little preemie lamb into taking her first tiny swallows of milk from a syringe and her first wobbly steps on her soft little preemie hooves.

I was so sleep deprived I’m pretty sure 80% of my spoken communication for weeks was Mira and me saying “Meeh!” “Maah!” and “Beeh!” at each other.

And thus began my career as Mira’s food dispenser/jungle gym. It is an unavoidable fact of being a lamb’s mother that you will spend a lot of time with sheepy hoofprints on your clothing.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Selfies with Mommy!”

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Pick me up, Mommy!”

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Mommy!! Pay attention to me!”

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Mommy, feed me!”

Now she’s a (slightly) big(ger) girl, but not much else has changed.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Look at the camera, Mira!”

“But Mommy, where are my crunchies??”

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Mira come on, it’s your birthday, I want a picture with you!”

“It’s my birthday? Yay! So where are my crunchies? Do I get extra birthday crunchies? Mommy! Crunchies!”

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“OK, fine. Here you go, Baby.”

“I have Mommy wrapped around my little hoof!”

Happy birthday, my Miracle girl! It’s been a good year.

 

10 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Miracle!

Leave a Reply

