Sheep in Dog’s Clothing

Since Watcher’s pretty much grown now, we’ve discussed a few times whether we ought to get him a playmate. He (voluntarily) spends a lot of time outside tending to his duties as Farm Alarm, but I’m sure he must get a little lonely being out there by himself. Supervising thirteen sheep, the local rabbits, and the occasional herd of cows next door is a lot of responsibility for one dog, after all.

Mira apparently heard there was an opening in the dog department and decided to apply, as part of her I Want Back In The House campaign. I went out to put the sheep up this evening, and she was out of the field running around the yard with Watcher. She didn’t seem at all scared of him, and he seemed happy to have her there. He was very eagerly teaching her how to bark at sheep by running around faster than my camera could catch without blurring.

“Pay attention! Barking hysterically is the most important part of being a dog!”

“Why? Nobody pays any attention to you. Seems kind of pointless to me.”

“What!? Barking, pointless?? Are you sure you’re a dog? You smell like that baby sheep that cried all the time and took over my house a few months ago…”

“Nope! I’m a dog! Definitely a dog! Dogs live in the house, right? Yup, I’m a dog.”

“I’m a dog now, Mommy! I ran and played with the other dog and everything! Now you have to let me sleep in the house.”

She was not terribly impressed to be summarily scooped up and plopped back on the sheep side of the fence. She may be incredibly cute and ridiculously spoiled, but unless she suddenly develops the ability to be housebroken, she’s not moving back in the house. I cleaned up after her quite enough for one lifetime when she was a lamb, thank you very much.

My back was not terribly impressed by the scooping up, either. I think Mira’s finally hit her growth spurt, she’s getting a lot bigger and looking more mature. I’ve even seen her butting Lady back when Lady tries to push her around. I’m glad she’s finally starting to catch up, but I’m still not going to breed her till next fall, at the earliest. I’m not so glad that she’s learned to jump fences, but then Duchess could clear a five foot fence at three months old, so I don’t know why I’m surprised.

6 thoughts on “Sheep in Dog’s Clothing

  1. If she takes after her mum, is there a chance she might jump a fence when she’s receptive – and end up being a mum herself rather sooner than you would like?

    • I’m going to try to have at least two fences and as much distance as possible between my non-breeding ewes and Duke for just that reason. There’s a chance they’ll still manage to work around me, but I’ll do the best I can to keep everyone in the right group.

  2. A border collie came to play in our backyard yesterday. It was quite funny, he seemed to think our dog was a sheep and was very frustrated when it ignored his herding technique. Our dog is a white standard poodle and no body herds her!

    • With that white poodle fur, I can understand the poor collie’s confusion! πŸ™‚ Most collies, especially border collies, will try to herd pretty much anything they see. They get very indignant when their efforts are ignored. πŸ™‚

    • She does indeed! I think she’s tired of the heat and humidity outside, and remembers the house was always a comfortable temperature. Of course the Clubhouses would be a lot more weather proof if the silly woollies would stop putting in so many “windows”, but oh well. Sheep will be sheep. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

