Muddy and Floody

Will and Little John still haven’t been wethered. The vet was supposed to come this afternoon, but I had to reschedule. Again. Because everything out there is soupy mud. Again. Oh well, at least that gives me more time to come up with a strategy for catching Will Houdini Scarlet.

“Forget it; Neo told me all about what that vet does. I’m not letting her get ahold of me!”

Between being soaking wet and the beginnings of a black mane starting to sprout, he’s turning almost as dark as Bran and Johnny.

“Maybe if I stay right next to big brother Bran ShepherdPerson will get confused and grab him instead!”

Don’t get your hopes up, Johnny. You two may look alike, but you don’t look that alike. Bran the Brawny still has a noticeable size advantage, and Johnny has those distinctive white face patches.

“I don’t care what you do with the lambs, can’t you do something about all this rain? I’m tired of floody puddles!”

This is not July weather, this is April weather. Everything has been so muddy so long that the sheep are starting to limp. I’d love to move them somewhere drier, but there just isn’t any place on the farm that’s not muddy. I throw a deep layer of straw in the Clubhouse, and by morning it’s straw soup in there.

The girls try to stay in the highest parts of the field as much as possible, but every time I go out Mira squelches along behind me with exaggerated steps and a disgusted look on her face.

“I don’t like this, Mommy! I want to come back in the house!”

Not only is the poor girl wet, but her baby fluff is starting to shed, making her look even more bedraggled.

I think she got over stressed during the severe thunderstorm yesterday, last night she kept rubbing her face against my leg and being whiny and clingy like she used to when she was a baby, on one of the (far too many) days when she was sick. She tried strenuously to get out the gate and run to the house, and kept acting like she wanted a bottle, which she hasn’t done in ages.

I sat with her in my lap in the catch pen for a long time while she fussed and nuzzled and chewed on my nose, chin, hair, clothes, fingers… anything she could reach. After about a half hour she seemed to feel better. She got up and went to bed happily enough. I, on the other hand, was drenched, stiff, muddy, and well chewed. Ah, the joys of motherhood.

10 thoughts on “Muddy and Floody

  1. If you think she got pretty stressed, you might hit her with a good dose of vitamins. I’m watching for parasites pretty hard too this summer with the wet and warm. This crazy weather! 😮

    • She seems ok now, I’m not sure if she was actually sick, or just upset because I haven’t been staying out in the rain to pay attention to her.
      This weather is crazy! I hate droughts, but I’m not too fond of living in a swamp, either…

  2. I wondered how much rain you were getting…watching the weather reports. Well, you can send some here, ID, we’ve got NOTHING! I’ll just bet you were chewed………..poor baby, OK, poor you too 🙂 Oh Will…………thinking of you, does the vet have a lasso ?

    • I was thinking something more like a tranquilizer gun, but a lasso might also work. 🙂 At least Little John shouldn’t be any trouble to catch, if he thinks there’s food you can’t beat him away with a stick.

  3. Could you call in some body to help you corral the boys for their manicure? Do you worry that their little hooves will get too soft from all the mush?

    • I’m just going to have to have Will already caught and haltered when the vet comes. They already laugh at me over my wild sheep, but Will’s the slipperiest one of all! I don’t think Johnny will be much trouble, he’s a friendly boy.

  4. If they are limping they may have hoof scald and need medication applied between their toes. I’m not sure if you’ve had to deal with this before, but when we’ve had it it looks like pink, irritated – almost raw- skin between the toes. You can get medication (we use “Hoof & Heel” but anything with zinc sulfate will work) from tractor supply or wherever. All this moisture is awful on their hooves. And great for worms. 😦

    • So far when I’ve checked their feet I don’t see any sign of hoof scald, so I don’t think there’s anything wrong with the hooves themselves, although the horn might be softening from being persistently wet. So far the problem has usually turned out to be a hard clump of mud wedged between the toes or something along those lines. This weather. 😦

Leave a Reply

