Signs of Spring

The weather has been in the fifties the past two days! Today is cloudy, but I’ll forgive that since it’s warm enough to stay outside longer than strictly necessary. It’s supposed to get cold again after today, but I’m pretending I don’t know that.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Hey ShepherdPerson, if you have crunchies bring them up here, I’m honestly too comfortable to get up and beg for them…”

The boys on their noon break, chewing their breakfast. The girls usually don’t settle down to ruminate until about 1 or 2 in the afternoon. I was a bit curious about why they were all laying outside the door of the Clubhouse, but then a particularly strong gust of wind blew the tarp up for a second and I saw why.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“My Clubhouse. Mine. This whole Clubhouse is only mine.”

That’s as good a reason as any to stay outside, I think. Duke was doing really well, settling down into his not-in-rut persona of Duke the Lazy Mini-Buffalo, but about 5 o’clock yesterday afternoon he decided to go back to being Duke the Jerk Nobody Likes. Boo, Duke.

Last year when Duke had a “relapse” I’d just move Barney over with the girls for a few days until Duke was ready to behave himself, but I can’t dump a ram (even a nice one like Liam) and two wethers on the girls right when they’re getting ready to lamb, so I guess they’ll just have to deal with Duke the best they can.

According to the calendar Princess should lamb first. She’s due on the 18th, with a possible lambing window of about a week to either side of that date. If she makes it to the 18th I’ll be surprised. She looks like she could go into labor any time now. All the signs of imminent lambing are there, and she’s glowing with the new life inside her.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“I am not amused. I’m hungry. I can’t walk without waddling. I’m hungry. I blame you. Where’s my food? Why’d we need more lambs anyway?”

Did I say glowing? I meant glowering. Motherhood is not her favorite thing, even if she does like having Nova around.

8 thoughts on “Signs of Spring

  1. If Princess was human, she would be Dynasty’s Joan Collins- all glitter and “stab you in the back” with a full make-up) smile and perfect coiffeur).

  2. Dear Sarah,
    So do we! When I tell the boys that there’s a new Shepherd Life post, they are antsy until I produce the computer.

    Man, Duke is the ultimate bully! Glad the other three like each other so much.

    Any idea what you’re going to do with Barney’s outer coat? It sure would make fantastic yarn for rya work…

    Very best,

    Natalie

    • I’m glad you enjoy it!

      I have a bag of Barney curls from his spring ’14 fleece that haven’t even been washed. They’re so pretty I want to do something with them, I just haven’t figured out what yet.

  3. I love the pictures of the boys all settled down. They do look so very comfy! Forgive my ignorance, but do your sheep usually ruminate about the same time each day? I’m afraid I do not know anything about the subject, but I am fascinated about all things sheep! I, too, love your writing style . . . each post is so very entertaining!
    Warm Regards, Lisa in Oregon

    • It’s not exact to the minute, but they do tend to follow the same general schedule for grazing and ruminating. The Shetlands tend to stay down longer at mid-day, and the girls will sometimes take short extra “chewing sessions” scattered through the day, but everybody takes at least an hour siesta somewhere between noon and 2 pm.

Leave a Reply

