Two Kinds of Sheep

On the ewe side of the field…

One of the most distinctive vocalizations my sheep make is the lost lambie baa, for when a lamb has lost sight of its mama, or wandered off or gotten stuck in something. The ewe’s calls are loud, low pitched and urgent, and the lamb answers with constant high pitched bleats. Through long association, I can tell by listening from the house who’s doing the crying and (sometimes) whether I need to worry or not.

If it’s Lady and Neo baaing, it usually means Neo’s gotten himself stuck behind an open gate or something and I need to “rescue” him, or at least check on them. Both parties are usually close to panicking, and when the problem is straightened out they immediately rush to meet each other, much relieved to be reunited.

If it’s Princess and Nova on the other hand, usually Nova isn’t actually lost or stuck at all. Usually Nova wanted to go one way, Princess wanted to go the other, and now they’re yelling “Hey, you’re too far away, get over here!” “No, you’re too far away, you get over here!” at each other across the field and stomping their feet in agitation without either actually making a move to close the distance. I’ll glance out the window just to make sure Nova’s not stuck in the fence or something, but otherwise I leave them to it. I’m not going to get between two stubborn royal woollies who are throwing royal tantrums at each other!

NovaPrincess

“I don’t care if you’re busy eating under the fence, I’m going to go eat salt, and you can’t stop me!”

I would say she’s turning into a teenager, but she’s always been like that.

Meanwhile on the ram side of the field…

hoophouse

Turns out if your ram likes to climb on the hoop house and use it as a trampoline, sooner or later the tarp will give out.

Duke

And if he rubs his horns against the Clubhouse corners, he’ll tear that tarp up, too.

Fence

He’ll bash your fence right off the fenceposts.

Tree

He’ll strip your trees as high as he can reach.

Basically, rams break stuff. All the time. Fortunately Duke’s pasture buddy isn’t as destructive or agile.

Barneytree

“Oof. This tree thing always looks so easy when Duke does it! How’d I get all wedged in here?”

I keep telling myself over and over, “Barney’s wool is not too long, the Soays just have your perception skewed. Barney’s wool is not too long… let me just run an image search for “Shetland Sheep” to compare… yup,  not too long. The Soays have my perception skewed. Barney’s wool is… already so long what’s he going to look like by next spring?!” I may trim his belly wool off if he looks like he’s too hot; belly wool usually gets thrown out anyway.

3 thoughts on “Two Kinds of Sheep

Leave a Reply

