Brown Sheep, Brown Sheep, Have You Any Wool?

Yes sir, yes sir, six bags full! Well, seven if you count that bag of curls from Barney’s outer fleece. And there’s that bag of second cuts in the corner. Plus the rest of Barney’s fleece rolled up in a sheet that hasn’t been sorted through yet.

I have a feeling I’ll never fit that into the rhyme scheme.

Image

Lady’s wool is a lovely grayish-tan. It has a fair amount of guard hair and kemp, but the staple is longer than the others, and the undercoat is very soft.

Image

Duchess’s wool is a beautiful almost-black. It has the odd strand of kemp, but not very much relatively speaking. The staple is very short, but due to the lower amount of guard hair and kemp, I’m told it will be the easiest to try to spin first.

Image

A short length of yarn spun from Duchess’s fleece by my friend, thecrazysheeplady. Go check out her blog, it’s amazing! Then come back here. I have funny cute tiny sheep.

Image

Princess… yikes. Would you like that wool light kemp, moderate kemp, or superkemp? I’m not sure what I’m going to do with this stuff. Her fleece varies wildly in from a fairly clean coarse wool in some parts to other parts where I think there might actually be a tiny bit of woolly stuff stuck in the guard hair and kemp. More of the latter than the former, of course. Princess simply has to be dramatic and difficult, even down to how she grows her wool.

Image

This is a lock of Barney’s outer coat. I got so distracted by the fact that his outer coat is exactly the shade of my own hair that I forgot to take pictures of the undercoat. You know, the usable part? No pictures of that. *facepalm*
Image
Duke doesn’t seem uncomfortable in his wool yet, and until he does look distressed or it becomes obvious it’s not coming out I’m going to leave him alone. He doesn’t have time to get his hair done, he’s busy stripping all the leaves within reach and staring longingly at the rest.

 

4 thoughts on “Brown Sheep, Brown Sheep, Have You Any Wool?

  1. They are going to be lovely ~ Can’t wait till you spin some up. I am surprised at how the length varies. Will you combine some or spin all separately? The colors are really pretty.

    • I want to spin them separately, since these are their first fleeces. I want to be able to look at the yarn and see the sheep it came from. I may incorporate the finished yarn from all three into the same project though, depending on what it looks like when I get it spun.

  2. I thought it was interesting yarn to spin and was happy to get the opportunity! Love your description of Princess :-D.

Leave a Reply

